Finding God in My Happy Place

As I shared a few days ago my family had the opportunity to go to the beach together for a week. The beach is my absolute happy place. There is something so relaxing and enjoyable about stepping foot onto the sandy shore, listening to the waves crash along the edge, and feel the sunlight kiss my skin.

2015-08-16_06-11-17

As I said in yesterday’s post about hiking in nature, the beach just has a way of making me feel at one with nature & with God. I love the beach. I love the sand. I love the surf. I love the breeze. It truly is my happy place. Give me a comfy chair, a good book, and a refreshing beverage, and I am one content mama!

I guess what I love the most about the beach, is standing on the shore and looking out into the vast water ahead. There’s something about being able to see for miles and miles and yet, still not seeing anything but water. It reminds me that we are so small. So often we get caught up in our own stuff and we forget just how BIG the rest of the world truly is.

The greatness of the ocean makes me think about how we can’t put God in a box. He is not contained. I cannot keep Him in my little neck of the woods and He has no boundaries. He is so much greater and ridiculously awesome than I can even imagine.

Thank about it…there is a whole “world” out there hidden beneath the waves that we don’t see, but yet God created. Fish that swim, water mammals that come to the surface to play, plants that grow under the waters, and the list could go on, and on!

I am just amazed that God would spend just as much time creating things under water as He would creating things on land that we get to see all the time, every day. And what blows my mind even more, is that at the bottom of the ocean live creatures that have rarely been seen, if at all! How creative is our God?!?!? (And don’t get me started about outer space!!! or lightening bugs… they just make me giggle).

What’s even more awesome is that He loves us even more so than those amazing creatures. He loves ME more than the animals that swim, crawl, & fly. (“Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?” Matthew 6:26, ESV)

Standing on the beach is truly a humbling experience.

“By the word of the Lord the heavens were made, and by the breath of his mouth all their host. He gathers the waters of the sea as a heap; he puts the deeps in storehouses. Let all the earth fear the Lordlet all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him!” Psalm 33:6-8, ESV

One thought on “Finding God in My Happy Place

Leave a Reply

