My Rainbow Babies After the Storm of Miscarriage

I don’t know where I’ve been but I have just heard about the term “Rainbow Baby” in recent months. A “Rainbow Baby” is a baby that is born following a miscarriage, stillbirth, neonatal death or infant loss. A rainbow typically appears in the sky when the sun is coming out while it is still raining. They are called “Rainbow babies,” because they follow the “Storm” of pregnancy or infant loss. A rainbow in the sky symbolizes hope that the storm is over – just like a pregnancy that occurs after a miscarriage, stillbirth, neonatal death, or infant loss.

Don’t you just LOVE that term? I certainly do love rainbows! And to make it such a beautiful explanation of a child that follows a loss like that – it takes my breath away.

Photo Credit: Janelle Allen

Photo Credit: Janelle Allen

Meet my rainbow babies. Yes, both of them. I had three of my miscarriages before our son was born. My fourth miscarriage was in between these two. I can honestly say that these are my rainbows after the storm and my beautiful rays of sunshine. They have been tremendous blessings to me over and over again and I cannot thank God ENOUGH for them.

Leave a Reply

